Topic 4: Reflection

As a student, I found this topic particularly valuable due to how relevant the subject area was to our generation. There were so many different angles and approaches that could have been taken because of how broad the topic was. Consequently, this made it difficult for me to narrow it down to one ethical issue relating to social media within business and education. However after extensive research, and the help of Cain & Fink (2010), I was able to choose the area of the topic that fascinated me.

Although I mainly focussed on the ethical issue of privacy, I also reviewed and learnt a very different approach from Richards blog. Compared to my blog, Richard gave a wider and more holistic view on ethics of how the digital divide effects education due to the lack of access to technology.

On the other hand, Anna shared very similar views about the ethical issue privacy as I did. She also helped broaden my knowledge further about the topic. For example introducing me to Erica Escalante and Damian Goddard cases which was similar to the Justine Sacco one.

I feel that I have paid special attention to improving my blog posts by structuring it more clearly by including sub-headings, paragraphs and videos to communicate to the reader better. However, I found Emma’s use of Piktochart and Powtoon made her blog more creative and visually interesting. This is definitely something I’m going to try in my next blog and hopefully achieve the same results.

Overall, I have thoroughly enjoyed this topics as I felt it let myself and other students explore different areas into the same topic. Therefore making it challenging and thought-provoking allowing myself to explore how private we think our social media is, meanwhile learning from other students’ blogs.

Comments

Anna

Richard

Leave a comment